I recently watched the South Korean drama series: That Winter, the Wind Blows (그 겨울, 바람이 분다) A 2013 series on KBS (originally aired 13 February to 3 April.)

I was just looking for something new and interesting. I also wanted to see a drama with actors I have not seen before. This is my first work with Zo In-sung. I read a little bit about him and learned he recently got out of the army and this is his first TV drama since then. I did find a couple other actors familiar, having just seen Kim Bum in BOYS OVER FLOWERS and Song Hye-kyo (from quite a while ago) in FULL HOUSE.

I love the story, very interesting to me since I have been curious just how they deal with the issue of similar names and in some cases the same name. It has to come up and I can only imagine it is confusing. I am sure they use numbers for personal identification (similar to here in the US.) The “con man” story line is also very exciting. That characters back story is sad and as it is revealed, I find the more I like him. The more I am rooting for him!

Photo credit: DramaFever.com

Going into this story, I had no preconceived notions. I had not read anything about it. No sneak peeks, no synopsis or FAN Pages (there are plenty!!) Like all good drama’s they hooked me from the start. The minute I started caring about even one of them, that was it. Through ever tear and some laughter, I saw it through to the end. If you are a fan of Korean Drama’s I do not think you will be disappointed. I am off to seek out more movies/dramas by this writing/directing team, because this girl is smitten!

I leave you with this synopsis from DramaFever:

That Winter, the Wind Blows (그 겨울, 바람이 분다)

Starring Jo In Sung and Song Hye Gyo (Written/Directed: No Hee Kyung / Kim Kyu Tae

Circumstances condemn Oh Soo (Jo In Sung) and Oh Young (Song Hye Gyo) to loveless lives. After the untimely death of his first love, Oh Soo turns to an ambition-less life as a derelict gambler. The gorgeous Oh Young should be leading the perfect life as an heiress, but when her parents’ divorce crumbles the family, she faces the reality of living life alone — particularly in light of her increasingly impaired vision. When these two heavy souls cross paths, fate delivers a chance meeting that will change their lives forever.
About Chris (mydogknowsKorean)

Native Californian, married to a wonderful & very understanding hubby. We have a dog named "Buffy." She watches k-dramas with me. I LOVE LOVE LOVE CN BLUE! My interests have expanded to other artists like...FT ISLAND, Jang Keun Suk, Park ShinHye, Super Junior SHINee, HENRY, BEAST/B2ST, YBand (to name a few.) Be happy & you can make the world a happier place!

Leave a Reply

