I should explain the title, “To me he will always be Sir.” It started when my friends and I first watched “You’re Beautiful.” We could not pronounce any of the Korean names very well and we have always fondly referred to Jang Keun Suk as “SIR.” If you are familiar with the show, you know that the character Ko MiNam usually referred to his character as SIR. Even now if I talk about him with my friends we all say SIR. Even hubby calls him SIR. We all know the other main characters by their actual name and character name…but SIR will always be SIR.

(above: SBS promo shot for “You’re Beautiful”)

(L-R:Jang KeunSuk, Park ShinHye, Lee HongKi and Jang YongHwa)

       I feel now is the time, it has been long enough. I am determined to learn not only his name, but a little bit more about his work, music and dramas. I want to share what I have discovered.

       Lots of “fan sites and blogs” have tried to put him together with Park Shin Hye and Moon Geun-young. I guess once you see them on-screen with someone you fall in love with the “love story” of the 2 characters. So why not envision them together in real life. The stars do such a good job of keeping their personal lives…personal, that fans have no choice but to be creative. As long as it’s not harmful…I say speculate all you want. Of course they make a cute couple. Maybe they are still very close. Who knows for sure?

File:MaryStayedOutAllNight.jpg

(above: KBS promo shot for “Mary stayed out all night”)

       Jang Keun Suk is an actor, singer, dancer, model and very popular in Japan as well as Korea . He was born in Seoul, South Korea .  He just turned 25 last August. In middle school he went to New Zealand to study English and Japanese. He played in many feature films and TV dramas, sitcoms and music shows before the 2009 airing of “You’re beautiful” on the Korean network SBS. I don’t have to tell you how much I liked this drama. It’s the bar for which I measure all K-drama’s…I know, it’s set pretty high. I may watch a lot of TV in general, but I am no push over. I have standards. Which has led to the fact that I don’t really enjoy very much American TV anymore. I’m just growing up, that’s all.

       His music…this year (2012) he released 2 albums in Japan with his partner DJ Big Brother. Of course if it’s only available in Japan it may prove hard to get here in the US. Still, I search and know that someday I will find it. Until then, YouTube is an okay source for music I found a MV that looks official (credit as tagged on the video)

and the album…..(information found on AsianWiki)

Lounge H (The First Impression)

by Team H (Jang Keun Suk and Big Brother)

  • WE ARE
  • (Can’t Stop) ~JPN ver.~
  • SHAKE IT~JPN Ver.~
  • GOTTA GETCHA
  • RUN AWAY
  • VICTORY
  • NO HUMAN SMELL
  • (Can’t Stop)
  • SHAKE IT
  • (Can’t Stop) <Extended club mix

So, I may still refer to him as “Sir” but he is so much more than that. I love the video posted above…it’s a little out there. It’s okay to go a little out there sometimes. I look forward to more dramas featuring KeunSuk. “Love Rain” was the last drama I saw him in (on Drama Fever of course.) and he did such a wonderful job. He may be known as the “Asian Prince” in Japan, but for me….well, it’s all of KeunSuk that I admire princely or not. The actor, singer and all around rocking entertainer. I don’t know that I would “fit in” with the crowd at one of his concerts and I won’t soon get the chance. I do know that the view from this seat in my house is pretty good and at least here…I am the coolest person in the room (even hubby would agree.)

About Chris (mydogknowsKorean)

Native Californian, married to a wonderful & very understanding hubby. We have a dog named "Buffy." She watches k-dramas with me. I LOVE LOVE LOVE CN BLUE! My interests have expanded to other artists like...FT ISLAND, Jang Keun Suk, Park ShinHye, Super Junior SHINee, HENRY, BEAST/B2ST, YBand (to name a few.) Be happy & you can make the world a happier place!

2 responses »

  1. minitacmc says:

    All you do is watch K-dramas and listen k-music?

    • there are a few hours in the evening, I try to unwind after work (I work at surgery center…so it’s some stress and hectic sometimes.) We have no children to set a good example for so…i spend some time at the computer. Like tonight…laundry–drama–blog—more laundry (I am getting a head start on the weekend) how many hours to log a day???

Leave a Reply

