I hate to say anything bad about the drama BIG, since I liked it so much from the start. So, let me begin by saying I really, really enjoy so much about it. Like the work of Gong Yoo. He is not only very good looking, but he seems so natural in front of the camera. He has wonderful comedic timing. He can also bring on a flood of tears in such a way that you can’t help but cry with him. He really had two roles in this show. In the beginning he was Dr. Seo Yoon Jae and then later after the soul switch he plays the character Kang Gyung Joon. The entire “switch” dynamic was wonderfully written. The Hong sisters are a creative duo–like “drama super heroes.” I am a FAN going back to “You’re Beautiful.” Gong Yoo captured the essence of both very well. He was a wonderful serious quiet doctor and stubborn “teenager.” Now, this does not mean I did not like Shin Won Ho, as the character Kang Gyun Joon, because I did. He could not have been cuter, but alas…he spends almost the entire drama in a coma, lying in the hospital (and he looked great doing it.)

As for the delightful yet naive character of Gil Da Ran, played by Lee Min Jung. She was adorable and very sweet while having to divide her affections for most of the drama, between the man she was engaged to/married to (that she really didn’t know) and the teenage student (she gets to know very well.) As they spend time together, dodging teachers, old girlfriends, mysterious girlfriends and families (oh boy, the families) I laughed and cried and cheered them on!

The only disappointment I have is the ending. Grant it, I had already ran through several possible scenarios for the ending. Even some of mine didn’t play out well. In the end I think they showed just what they had planned. Leaving it a bit of a mystery. In my mind I could have accepted it better if the voice under the umbrella had sounded more like the original “Kang Gyun Joon.” We saw a foot, part of a hand, the top of a head….then the voice I had trouble connecting with. Small disappointment. That being said, I wouldn’t have missed it. This drama left a BIG impression on my heart. It made me think about love, family, timing and the ability to endure anything life throws at you.

Photo credit: NewsEN via Nate

Above Gong Yoo pictured with the ladies of the drama BIG…Choi Ran, Yoon Hae Young, Lee Min Jung, Bae Suzy. He looks so comfortable with the ladies! I hope he gets busy with another drama soon. That smile should not be wasted!

About Chris (mydogknowsKorean)

Native Californian, married to a wonderful & very understanding hubby. We have a dog named "Buffy." She watches k-dramas with me. I LOVE LOVE LOVE CN BLUE! My interests have expanded to other artists like...FT ISLAND, Jang Keun Suk, Park ShinHye, Super Junior SHINee, HENRY, BEAST/B2ST, YBand (to name a few.) Be happy & you can make the world a happier place!

Leave a Reply

